Prof Philip Poortmans receives the Jens Overgaard Legacy Award at ESTRO Congress

Alizée Lacroix
Prof Philip Poortmans, head of the Radiation Oncology department at Institut Curie, received the Jens Overgaard Legacy Award on Sunday, 28th April. This is a prestigious award that acknowledges his dedication to advancing the field of radiation oncology.
Philip Poortmans

Each year, the Board of the European SocieTy for Radiotherapy and Oncology decides jointly with Elsevier, publisher of ESTRO’s Journal “Radiotherapy & Oncology”, on the recipient of the Jens Overgaard Legacy Award.

For 2019, the Board decided to award Prof Philip Poortmans, head of the Department of Radiation Oncology of Institut Curie, for his outstanding contribution to promoting scholarly science in radiation oncology.

When receiving the award, he delivered a lecture at the ESTRO Annual Meeting entitled “Back to the future, a tale of volumes”.

In this presentation, his important contribution to current clinical guidelines and applications via participation in and leading of clinical trials was highlighted, including a critical note on the importance of respecting good practises in radiation oncology, thereby following the introductory note of Prof Jens Overgaard himself.

Over the past 25 years, Philip Poortmans has been involved in a number of aspects of clinical trials, such as quality assurance and optimization of the management of breast cancer, malignant lymphoma, urological and rare tumours. He has also taken part in the development of many guidelines for cancer treatment. At the same time he has always worked to facilitate and stimulate the development of basic, translational and clinical research in a multi-professional and multidisciplinary environment.

Prof Philip Poortmans joined Institut Curie in March 2017 as head of the Department of Radiation Oncology, which is one of the most comprehensive in Europe including a proton therapy centre. Patients are welcomed from all over France and around the world.


Prof Philip Poortmans career path

1986: Medical Degree

1986 to 1990: Training in Radiation Oncology

2005: PhD in Quality assurance in breast cancer clinical trials

2005: Member of the Board of Directors of the European Society for Radiotherapy and Oncology (ESTRO)

2014 to 2016: President of ESTRO

2018 to 2020: President of ECCO (European CanCer Organisation).

More information