Chargé de recherche CNRS
Recherche - Orsay
Spécialités / domaines
Biologie cellulaire,
Research Center,
Imagerie Cellulaire et Tissulaire,
Recherche fondamentale
Functions within Institut Curie:
  • Researcher
    Controlling Microtubule Dynamics and Function with the tubulin code
    Unit : Genome Integrity, RNA and Cancer (UMR3348)

Research interests

My main research interest is the role of the regulation of the microtubule cytoskeleton by posttranslational modifications. I focus mostly on tubulin polyglutamylation, the modification mostly enriched in neurons, and its impact on the regulation of neuronal function and in neurodegeneration. I have developed a number of murine models of polyglutamylation and analysed them at the organism and cellular levels. I also contribute to investigating the role of posttranslational modifications of tubulin in in vitro approaches.


Professional experience

  • Oct 2020: CNRS permanent researcher (CRCN), Institut Curie, Orsay, France
  • Oct 2008 – Oct 2020: non-permanent researcher with Carsten Janke, CRBM-CNRS, Montpellier, Institut Curie, Orsay, France, “Role of tubulin polyglutamylation in neurodegeneration.”
  • Oct 2006 – Sept 2008: Post-doc with Solange Desagher, IGMM-CNRS, Montpellier, France, “Role of the anti-apoptotic protein, Mcl-1 in neuronal apoptosis.”
  • Feb 2002 –Sept 2006: PhD with Etienne Schwob, IGMM-CNRS, Montpellier, France, “Checkpoint surveillance of the unperturbed DNA replication.”
  • May 2001 – Jan 2002: Master project and Research Assistant with Miles D. Houslay, Institute of Biomedical and Life Sciences, University of Glasgow, UK, “Mechanism of action of PDE4, the multienzyme cAMP-specific phosphodiesterase family.”


  • HDR (Habilitation à Diriger les Recherches), Paris Sud-Paris Saclay, France, October 2019
  • PhD of Université Montpellier II, France, September 2006
  • Master in Molecular Biology, Jagiellonian University, Kraków, Poland, April 2001
ATAT1-enriched vesicles promote microtubule acetylation via axonal transport
Science Advances
Aviel Even, Giovanni Morelli, Loïc Broix, Chiara Scaramuzzino, Silvia Turchetto, Ivan Gladwyn-Ng, Romain Le Bail, Michal Shilian, Stephen Freeman, Maria M. Magiera, A. S. Jijumon, Nathalie Krusy, Brigitte Malgrange, Bert Brone, Paula Dietrich, Ioannis Dragatsis, Carsten Janke, Frédéric Saudou, Miguel Weil, Laurent Nguyen