Research Director CNRS
Recherche - Paris
Spécialités / domaines
Cell biology,
Integrative tumor biology, immunology and environment,
Functions within Institut Curie:

Sebastian Amigorena obtained his PhD in Paris in 1990. After a 3 years post doc at Yale University, he returned to Paris in 1995 and started an Inserm AVENIR group together with Christian Bonnerot. Today, he is the head of the Immunology Department (INSERM U932, “Cancer Immunity”) at the Curie Institute. Sebastian Amigorena’s main scientific interest overlaps immunology and cell biology. In his graduate and post-doctoral studies, he analyzed the functions of IgG receptors and described the molecular basis of their inhibitory properties. Sebastian Amigorena is today an expert in antigen presentation and cross presentation in dendritic cells. He analyzed dendritic cells’ endocytic and phagocytic pathways and described several unique specializations of both pathways. Sebastian Amigorena and his team also made significant contributions to the analysis of cytotoxic T cells dynamics in vivo, during the initiation of immune responses in lymph nodes and during the invasion and rejection of solid tumors. More recently, he has contributed to understanding the epigenetic programing of T cell memory. Today, the team studies transposable elements, the regulation of their expression and their roles in anti-tumor immunity.

Repeated peripheral infusions of anti-EGFRvIII CAR T cells in combination with pembrolizumab show no efficacy in glioblastoma: a phase 1 trial
Nature Cancer
Stephen J. Bagley, Zev A. Binder, Lamia Lamrani, Eliana Marinari, Arati S. Desai, MacLean P. Nasrallah, Eileen Maloney, Steven Brem, Robert A. Lustig, Goldie Kurtz, Michelle Alonso-Basanta, Pierre-Emmanuel Bonté, Christel Goudot, Wilfrid Richer, Eliane Piaggio, Shawn Kothari, Lea Guyonnet, Coralie L. Guerin, Joshua J. Waterfall, Suyash Mohan, Wei-Ting Hwang, Oliver Y. Tang, Meghan Logun, Meghna Bhattacharyya, Kelly Markowitz, Devora Delman, Amy Marshall, E. John Wherry, Sebastian Amigorena, Gregory L. Beatty, Jennifer L. Brogdon, Elizabeth Hexner, Denis Migliorini, Cecile Alanio, Donald M. O’Rourke
Epigenetically controlled tumor antigens derived from splice junctions between exons and transposable elements
Science Immunology
Marianne Burbage, Ares Rocañín-Arjó, Blandine Baudon, Yago A. Arribas, Antonela Merlotti, Derek C. Rookhuizen, Sandrine Heurtebise-Chrétien, Mengliang Ye, Alexandre Houy, Nina Burgdorf, Guadalupe Suarez, Marine Gros, Benjamin Sadacca, Montserrat Carrascal, Andrea Garmilla, Mylène Bohec, Sylvain Baulande, Bérangère Lombard, Damarys Loew, Joshua J. Waterfall, Marc-Henri Stern, Christel Goudot, Sebastian Amigorena
Noncanonical splicing junctions between exons and transposable elements represent a source of immunogenic recurrent neo-antigens in patients with lung cancer
Science Immunology
Antonela Merlotti, Benjamin Sadacca, Yago A. Arribas, Mercia Ngoma, Marianne Burbage, Christel Goudot, Alexandre Houy, Ares Rocañín-Arjó, Ana Lalanne, Agathe Seguin-Givelet, Marine Lefevre, Sandrine Heurtebise-Chrétien, Blandine Baudon, Giacomo Oliveira, Damarys Loew, Montserrat Carrascal, Catherine J. Wu, Olivier Lantz, Marc-Henri Stern, Nicolas Girard, Joshua J. Waterfall, Sebastian Amigorena
CD8+T cell responsiveness to anti-PD-1 is epigenetically regulated by Suv39h1 in melanomas
Nature Communications
Leticia Laura Niborski, Paul Gueguen, Mengliang Ye, Allan Thiolat, Rodrigo Nalio Ramos, Pamela Caudana, Jordan Denizeau, Ludovic Colombeau, Raphaël Rodriguez, Christel Goudot, Jean-Michel Luccarini, Anne Soudé, Bruno Bournique, Pierre Broqua, Luigia Pace, Sylvain Baulande, Christine Sedlik, Jean-Pierre Quivy, Geneviève Almouzni, José L. Cohen, Elina Zueva, Joshua J. Waterfall, Sebastian Amigorena, Eliane Piaggio
Splicing Patterns in SF3B1-Mutated Uveal Melanoma Generate Shared Immunogenic Tumor-Specific Neoepitopes
Cancer Discovery
Jeremy Bigot, Ana I. Lalanne, Francesca Lucibello, Paul Gueguen, Alexandre Houy, Stephane Dayot, Olivier Ganier, Jules Gilet, Jimena Tosello, Fariba Nemati, Gaelle Pierron, Joshua J. Waterfall, Raymond Barnhill, Sophie Gardrat, Sophie Piperno-Neumann, Tatiana Popova, Vanessa Masson, Damarys Loew, Pascale Mariani, Nathalie Cassoux, Sebastian Amigorena, Manuel Rodrigues, Samar Alsafadi, Marc-Henri Stern, Olivier Lantz